top of page

Y3 Week 5: Unforeseen Consequences

Apologies for the slight delay in this weeks blog. While not making Half-Life 2 references I have been busy this week with unwrapping. Unfortunately, I once again failed to meet my own personal deadline of starting (or even finishing) textures on my shop model. Why? Simply because I'm ill once again. This is the second time that I have been ill within just over a month (having been ill just prior to starting this year) and these illnesses have definitely taken their toll on me.

While I was being slowed down and work has been a lot less efficient, at least I can now say that I have finished unwrapping the whole model and created my 4 texture sheets, leaving me with just the textures to do. While that's not all too bad considering I still have a week left to finish this project, it's slightly problematic in the sense that I really wanted to focus more on the stretch goals for this project. rather than the project itself. Now that I have fallen behind I probably won't get time for this and instead have to focus on getting the textures done as soon as possible.

But enough talking about what I failed to do and let's shift the focus on what I was able to do. Here is a screenshot of the finished model:

The model stands at 7,930 tris, which is easily within my budget of 15,000 tris. I plan on re-using some of the assets as well, which will finally leave the shop looking like this:

I am quite happy with how the model has turned out and also quite relieved that the unwrapping is finally done. In the next week (or rather the next few days) I will aim to get the textures done and get the model into unreal to create a nice little scene. There is a few things which I still need to figure out regarding presentation as well, such as how to deal with material IDs on Sketchfab and in Marmoset.

Finally I have been asked by my tutor to think further about how I would texture the model. I had included some colour and texture within my concept, however the body of the teapot was left blank for now, which was because I was already thinking about this myself. While leaving it completely blank definitely doesn't seem like a good idea, I will probably still be able to get away with leaving the textures on the body quite simple. A simple gradient using the colours from my colour pallette would probably work quite well. I will have a go at trying it out once I get around to texturing.

bottom of page