top of page

Y3 Week 9: ... and the Sudden Stop!

The third project is officially over and with that I have finished all projects for the style matrix, which brings us to the final week, where we are given the chance to go back to our projects and polish a few things, as well as concentrate on the written portion of the style matrix.

The last week was a bit chaotic for myself. A couple of things went wrong. I go into more detail about this on my project hand-in page, which can be found here. However, to summarise: I noticed too late in the process that I had forgotten to model some parts of the third cart and I struggled with the small size of the texture sheet. I also had issues with the fact that my textures were overlapping, which resulted in mirrored textures, which were nothing like the original pieces of concept that I worked from.

Overall, I am not particularly happy how this project turned out, but I welcome you to go over to the hand-in page and have a look for yourself. Here's my final result as it can be found on sketchfab:

While you can definitely tell that these are the karts from the concepts, the textures are simply lacking something in my opinion. For the third kart especially, which is mostly made of metal, you can't really tell what materials were being used to create some parts. It was very hard to include detail into some of the parts, as the texture size was so small and everything I wanted to include just ended up looking like a blurry mess. One thing I am particularly happy about is how the fish can on the second cart has turned out, but apart from that I am not very happy with the result.

However, for the next week, I don't really want to go back and mess around with this, but instead focus on getting the written part for the style matrix done, as we have been assigned a lot to write. Don't expect much of an post next week, since there really won't be anything to show, however I will try and do a small update once more before we set off for Christmas.


bottom of page