top of page

Y3 Week 7: Gravity Karts!

Once again I must apologise for the late blog this week. I am finding it hard to write recently, so I will also apologise in advance if these blogs are not up to my usual standards. That being said, let's begin.

I ended last week's blog with the open decision on which project to do next. My original plan was to model a realistic character to be able to show a wide range of styles and skills, however I soon decided that I didn't really fancy torturing myself with such a task. Therefore I once again looked at the list of available projects. There weren't a lot of options that I really liked doing so it came down to pretty much picking my poison. There was one brief leftover, which left me a bit confused as it was missing a few details, so I decided to hunt down a tutor and ask abut it and I am glad I did.

The brief I am talking about is the fully stylised prop brief (also known as 'Gravity Karts'), for which I have to model 3 karts within the short time of just 3 weeks (4 karts as a stretch goal). The originally confusing part in this brief was the fact that we were supposed to be given a bunch of concepts to work from, however they were simply missing from the brief. After chasing up the tutor I found out that these concepts were available in a different brief and with that I was able to extract them from there and start my project.

So, after 1 week I have gotten quite a bit of work done, however not as much as I expected (or hoped) to get done. I have now fully modelled the first 2 karts. My original plan was to completely finish modelling and even start/finish unwrapping all 3 karts within the first week. The reason for that is since I really want to focus my time on hand-painting textures for this project and I wanted a full 2 weeks (or at least 1 and a half) to do so.

I am quite happy with how the models turned out, even though they are not perfectly the same as the concepts, however I noticed pretty early on that it would be impossible to get them to be exactly the same since the perspective in the concepts is wrong in some parts and my first attempts at modelling them to be exactly the same as the concepts turned out to be a bit of a disaster, so I soon dropped this idea and instead focussed on just modelling them how I think they should be, while sticking to the concepts as close as possible.

For the next week I will be focussing on catching up again. I want to finish modelling the third kart and have all karts unwrapped, as well as make a start on texturing, so that I will be able to get the project done on time.

bottom of page