top of page

Y3 Week 6: Roof Issues

The last week has been quite stressful for me. After jumping straight into the texturing stage after last week I noticed a problem straight away: The roof. I had quite a bit of base textures done already but once I got to the roof and started thinking about how I was going to texture it I soon noticed that it wouldn't work the way I wanted to do it.

So, I went back to the modelling stage and decided to model in some more detail. Luckily I had quite a few tris left, which allowed me to be able to include the detail that I modelled in without any problems and only a bit of unwrap work was necessary as well, since I mostly just copy and pasted edges. The end result worked quite well once I applied the correct smoothing groups and with just 3 edges per segment and a plane at the end to cap it off I was able to give the illusion of cylinders going down the roof quite well.

Next I went back to the texturing stage once again. This time everything went a lot smoother and I was able to catch up on time again. I came to a point where I had to handpaint some wood textures and since I never really created any hand painted textures as such I decided to give it a go. Here is what I came up with

I originally painted it in green and shifted the hue to get different coloured wood textures, which I then used throughout my model. I was running out of time, but at this stage I would've liked to do a few more different textures to give the whole thing a bit of variation.

Soon enough I was able to get to my final result, which you can find in my finished projects section or by following this link. Here is a little teaser:

Make sure to use the link above to have a look at the model inside a 3D viewer as well. Next week I am going to start another new project. This time it will be the final project of the style matrix before we are moving onto our FMP. I am currently debating a bit as to what project I am going to choose to do, as I am still not quite sure about modelling a character. Hopefully I will be able to make the right decision!

bottom of page